Crannmor Pottery Blog

October 22, 2018

Celebrating 50 Greece Week 42

Filed under: Uncategorized — by crannmorpottery @ 2:21 PM

Yes I’m back from my week away on the island of Santorini in Greece, all recharged and back at the wheel finishing off a big order. Greece lived up to the expectations and it is a country of the colour BLUE ,my fave.

We cycled as much of the island as possible which is the perfect way to get around and stop anytime to take a photo and plenty were taken!! It had quite a few hills so a good work out was had and everyday ended with a swim.

Plate

Plate in Church wall

On our third day of exploring we came across a potter near the south end of the island. Galateas Pottery She had a wide variety of work in a few different mediums, clay mainly, paintings and silk prints. I bought a small tile with simple line drawings of typical Greek houses.

There was quite a bit of pottery for sale but mainly geared to the tourist market. It was nice to browse but most was a bit touristy for my liking. Although I did but a small bowl with slip decoration is was so cheap but loved the pattern.

I think we all like to bring back some sort of memento from travels and because I’m a potter it does tend to be pottery or art work. Next week I will talk about more of my travel collection.

Galatea's Tile

Galatea’s Tile

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.